I always loved Mickey Mantle; not so much mantle-cell lymphoma

12 12 2014

As a kid, I wanted Mickey Mantle’s mighty swing. And his blazing speed. And his grace in centerfield.

As an adult, books by and about Mantle line my bookshelves.

So when the doctor said what kind of cancer I have, I did a double take: Did he say mantle-cell lymphoma? Yes, he did.

It really has nothing to do with The Mick. Unlike Lou Gehrig, he has no disease named for him. And, I should note, since Mickey died of liver cancer and blamed his life of hard drinking, mantle-cell is not related to alcohol consumption.

This type of lymphoma gets its name because it originates in the B-lymphocyte cells in the “mantle zone” of the lymph node, according to the Lymphoma Research Foundation.

More on my disease on my Caring Bridge page and at The Buttry Diary. My outlook is good and my oncologist and I are optimistic. But my treatment may distract me from this blog for a while. I suppose I’ll probably blog about the Hall of Fame selections, and I hope to be finished with treatment pretty early in the next baseball season. But if Hated Yankees takes a little hiatus, I blame mantle-cell, not The Mick.

Actions

Information

24 responses

12 12 2014
Lee Lerner

Thoughts with you, Steve! Swing for the fences, like the Mick would do.

Like

16 04 2015
I Can Relate to That | SeitzSetOnSports

[…] love for baseball even while battling one of the most horrible things in this world. Cancer. This post was published about 4 months ago. I do not know the status or condition of this Yankee, but I do […]

Like

21 09 2015
Yankees among the best almost everywhere but starting pitcher | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

22 09 2015
Yankee starting pitchers in the Hall of Fame: Ford, Gomez, Ruffing, Pennock, Hoyt, Chesbro | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

23 09 2015
Farewell to Yogi Berra: A Hall of Fame character (and player) | Hated Yankees

[…] remembered came from the 1961 season — not from the record home run chase of Roger Maris and Mickey Mantle, but from the homers hit by the Yankees’ three catchers. Howard (28), Berra (22) and […]

Like

24 09 2015
Yankees’ 300-game winners: Clemens, Niekro, Perry, Johnson | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

25 09 2015
Catfish Hunter and other Yankee pitchers who made the Hall of Fame primarily for other teams | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

28 09 2015
Yankee starting pitchers who belong in the Hall of Fame: Reynolds, John and Guidry | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

30 09 2015
Yankee pitchers who are nearly Hall of Famers: Mussina, Pettitte, Cone, Tiant, Kaat | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

1 10 2015
Yankee pitchers win more championships than Cy Young Awards | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

2 10 2015
Yankee starters with 200 wins but no shot at the Hall of Fame | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

9 10 2015
Few teams integrated as slowly or reluctantly as the Yankees | Hated Yankees

[…] the next year, they were two of the six Yankees who hit more than 20 homers, led by Roger Maris and Mickey Mantle, of […]

Like

12 10 2015
Yankees’ 20-game winners: Mel Stottlemyre, Bob Shawkey, Vic Raschi … | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

13 10 2015
Yankees who succeeded as starters and relievers | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

14 10 2015
Yankees who pitched no-hitters: Don Larsen, Allie Reynolds … | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

15 10 2015
Yankee starting pitchers with family connections in baseball | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

16 10 2015
Nicknames of Yankee starting pitchers: Catfish, Babe, Gator, Whitey … | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

17 10 2015
Yankee starting pitchers with the greatest teammates: Bullet Joe Bush and Mike Torrez | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

18 10 2015
Other notable Yankee starting pitchers: Al Downing, Don Gullett, Jim Beattie … | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

19 10 2015
The Yankees’ 50 best starting pitchers | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

20 10 2015
Comparing Yankees to other teams in starting pitchers in the Hall of Fame | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

21 10 2015
Does pitching really win championships? Yes, but … | Hated Yankees

[…] this series of blog posts over several months, mostly late at night while unable to sleep while undergoing medical treatment. I believe I have fact-checked and corrected any errors, but I welcome you to point out any I […]

Like

27 10 2016
A wonderful gift from the widow of Roger Maris | The Buttry Diary

[…] part of the story and I see no mention that he had this type. Too big a coincidence not to mention (I did), even though it’s not named for The Mick (he died of liver cancer). Mantle-cell lymphoma is […]

Like

27 10 2016
A wonderful gift from the widow of Roger Maris | Hated Yankees

[…] part of the story and I see no mention that he had this type. Too big a coincidence not to mention (I did), even though it’s not named for The Mick (he died of liver cancer). Mantle-cell lymphoma is […]

Like

Leave a Reply

